IV. Poverty Alleviation Programs

(a) Abundant Blessing Meal (ABM) – Short-term Food Assistance Services (Self-financed)

The Abundant Blessing Meal (ABM) is one of the programs offered by ABMSBC as part of the Help-The-Poor program series.

 

The program is to tender short-term food assistance service to help individuals and families who have difficulties in coping with their daily food expenditure, including those among the unemployed, low-income earners, new arrivals, street sleepers, as well as individuals or families encountering sudden change and facing immediate financial hardship, etc.

 

The COVID-19 pandemic seems to make everything come to a halt but not our services, especially our food assistance service to the needy. During the period of COVID-19 pandemic last year, a large number of community members lost their jobs and the concerned families encountered immediate financial difficulties. One valid piece of evidence is that the number of cases receiving government funded food assistance rapidly increased by 138% in 7 months from 12/2019 to 6/2020. So is the service demands for ABM.

 

We cannot cope with the service needs on our own. We are grateful for having wonderful support from many people.

 

Thanks to many charitable trusts, corporates, churches, organizations and individuals for their generous donations, which enable us to continue our services to the needy to experience love and concern during difficult times.

The following shows how we go side by side with a service recipient during their hard times:

 

Mr. E's family of five rented a sub-divided unit in San Po Kong. His wife took care of three children and was unable to work, as their eldest son suffers from Attention Deficit / Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) while the youngest daughter suffers from dyslexia. Mr. E originally worked as a transportation worker to support the living expenses of his family. Due to his low income, he began to receive our agency's food assistance service for a period of time since October 2019. Since the epidemic last year, Mr. E became unemployed and relied on intermittent odd jobs and meagre savings to support his living. Recently his savings were exhausted and he was unable to pay rent, living expenses and additional training expenses for his children. He felt very helpless. After having learnt about his situation, we immediately arranged our Abundant Blessing Meal (ABM) food assistance service for the family on one hand, and on the other hand, our social worker assisted him in applying for a charity fund provided in the community so as to relieve his financial pressure and alleviate his urgent needs.

 

(b)Short-term Food Assistance Services Project V (Government funded)

We are the principal service operator of the Short-term Food Assistance Services Project V (STFASP V) subsidized by the Social Welfare Department (SWD) in Wong Tai Sin and Sai Kung with effect from 1 August 2018 to 31 July 2021. We have served more than 27,000 people and delivered more than 1,420,000 meal days to the needy within these three years. Prior to that, we have been one of the five Co-organizing agencies of STFASP also subsidized by the SWD in Kowloon East from 27 February 2009 to 31 July 2018.

(c) Children Fun Fun Fun

This program aims at widening the underprivileged children’s horizon and enriching their life exposure through provision of alternative learning opportunities, such as after school care service, interest classes, visits and outings.

(d) ELITE

(Edify Life-long Imprints for Tomorrow’s Excellence)
This Program aims at helping the underprivileged Form 3 to Form 6 students to plan their career path and attain a positive life development. Career Orientation is conducted by high calibre volunteers and companies to share with the students their respective professions and business. Our Clinical Psychologist conducts talks to the students.

Sharing of Study Skills

A HKU student volunteer shared her study skills with the ELITE students to help them prepare for DSE, the public examination

Updates of ELITE (2021):

Three of them were DSE students.

They were admitted by the Chinese University of Hong Kong in the 2021/2022 academic year. They study Medicine, Nursing and Business Administration.

The student, who studies Medicine, shares :

I’m grateful that I have participated in the ELITE Project which offered us much support. In terms of career planning, we could have the opportunity to visit a law firm and have a conversation with trainee solicitors to get a clearer picture on their routine jobs and career ladder. They also shared some study tips and their considerations on choosing subjects back then.

 

I still remember that one of the trainee solicitors mentioned that she used to be eager in studying medicine, but was deterred from studying it because of the foreseeable stress in the future and chose to study law instead. This sharing made me introspect on my determination in pursuing medicine, which turned out to reinforce my belief.

 

Students of physiotherapy and nursing, as well as a senior of my school were invited to share exam tips, course contents of their major and considerations in choosing major. This greatly enhanced my understanding on various career pathway and enabled me to make a clear future plan and have more comprehensive consideration on arranging JUPAS choices. In fact, physiotherapy and nursing was my backup plan in case I couldn’t get an ideal result in HKDSE. Therefore, the ELITE Project really helped me a lot in career planning.

 

Moreover, the ELITE Project once invited a doctor to give a talk in our school. I had a chance to talk with him individually after the talk and discussed bioethics and studying methods with him. Never had I ever imagined to be able to get this precious opportunity to be this close to a real doctor. This impressive talk has further ignited my interest in pursuing medicine.

 

As for reflection on myself, the ELITE Project arranged personality test for us to better understand our personalities and what jobs were suitable for us. Regular meetings offered us a chance to deepen our understanding on ourselves and to set short and long term goals in our life.

 

All in all, this Project has brought a lot of benefits to me and I therefore wholeheartedly recommend it to the juniors.

 

The student, who studies Nursing, shares :

This Program provides a platform for students to participate in different activities, such as doctor’s sharing and visit to a law firm.

In group activities, participants can be more aware of their interests through different types of activities.

We can deeply understand our strengths and characteristics.

I will highly recommend students to participate in this Program which can help them know more about themselves.

(e) HEAL

The HEAL Project is one of the programs offered by ABMSBC as part of the Help-The-Poor program series.

 

The program is to tender assistance to the cancer patients, who are receiving chemotherapy and radiotherapy, by supplying them with nutritious milk / milk powder as nutritious supplement. As our centre is located in East Kowloon Region and due to limitation of resources, we can serve referral cases from the United Christian Hospital and the Haven of Hope Hospital. The cases are referred either by the medical doctors or the medical social workers.

The following shows how we go side by side with service recipients during their hard times:

 

1) Mr. A (Age 62)

Mr. A suffered from Esophageal Cancer, which made him tolerate only a fluid diet to sustain his life. The nutritious milk was so costly that it constituted a significant portion of his whole family income. Therefore, Mr. A seriously considered ending his life because he did not want to become a huge burden to his family. Furthermore, one of his close family members suffered from depression due to the tremendous stress of looking after him. The medical social worker realized his difficulties and referred him to us. Mr. A felt greatly relieved when he knew that we were willing to support his nutritious milk. He called off his suicidal thought and was grateful to our assistance. His family member’s emotional state also improved.

 

2) Mr. B (Age 60)

Mr. B is a patient suffering from Nasopharyngeal carcinoma. The patient is receiving radiotherapy and chemotherapy. During his treatment, Mr. B went through difficult time of treatment. He suffered a lot despite the use of high dosage of anti-biotic, which caused him much agony. With the help of the extra nutritious milk, he recovered sooner than expected. Mr. B felt grateful to our assistance.

 

3) Ms. C (Age 58)

Ms. C is suffering from colonic cancer. When she was receiving chemotherapy, knowing that Ms. C came from an under-privileged family, the medical social worker referred her for our assistance by seeing that the patient was very weak. Nutritious milk was delivered to help her recover from her weak body.

 

4) Mr. D (Age 67)

Mr. D, together with his family of three, was one of the recipients of the Short-term Food Assistance Service due to unemployment. During their application, Mr. D’s wife informed us that her husband was suffering from Esophageal Cancer. Upon receipt of the information and our continuous caring enquiry into the family background, it was further learnt that Mr. D was undergoing radiotherapy, which had caused Mr. D suffering from swallowing difficulties. He could hardly swallow anything, including solid food items. Caring about Mr. D’s physical conditions, we suggested Mrs. D to discuss with Mr. D’s medical doctor about Mr. D’s health conditions and to explore anything that was needed to alleviate his situations. Mr. D was then referred by his medical doctor and the medical social worker of the hospital for nutritional supplement assistance. After thorough communication with Mr. D’s medical social worker, we learnt that it would be helpful if fluid nutritional supplement could be provided to Mr. D during his palliative radiotherapy and chemotherapy. Nutrition milk powder was then delivered to Mr. D to relieve his agony.

Services to Small Cubicle Household

Home Visit

 

There is a large number of sub-divided unit households that need to be contacted because of our food assistance services and our participation in the project launched by the Community Care Fund, which provides support to the sub-divided unit household to improve their living environment. The service area covers Wong Tai Sin, San Po Kong and Ngau Chi Wan. During the home visits, we find that the general living environment of these families is small and crowded. Space for activities is scarce. Moreover, since the buildings are not properly managed, most of them are dilapidated and dirty, and the sanitary conditions are poor. Even though the environmental conditions are so bad, the rent is still very high and actually not affordable for those low-income families. As their lives are already stretched, they still have to cope with such expensive rents that causes a huge burden to them. Hence, any kinds of food assistance can definitely help most of the recipients to relieve their life pressure.

 

Recently, I paid a home visit to a client who lives in Wong Tai Sin. She is an elderly person living alone. Due to the rugged and difficult path inside her community, together with the lack of light and incomplete house number, I was afraid that I could not find her unit. Hence I decided to meet her at the entrance of the village so that she could pick me up to her house. However, she did not show up at the time we agreed. So I called her but she did not answer my calls for several times. At the last attempt, she answered. It turned out that she was busy with picking cardboards on the streets and forgot my home visit. Having answered my call, she rushed back. When we met, she took me through a winding, dark and slippery path to her residence. Then, we had to carefully climb a dilapidated ladder to reach her house, which was filled with sundries and debris. It was hard to move around with two persons standing inside it. The old woman showed me those old things, which she treated like her treasures. She picked them from the garbage station, such as the rusty fan, rice cooker, refrigerator ...… I was looking, listening, but speechless...!

【A Corner of Subdivided Household】

 

In one of the six-storey tenement buildings in Wong Tai Sin District, a long-lost and warm scene appeared. I call it a small neighborhood community.

 

This building has two flats on each storey, and the two flats on the fifth floor are divided into three subdivided units, living a total number of six households. One of which has only one young man living alone, and the other five households are families with couple and children. What is commendable is that these six households are like one big family. The door is usually open among the households. Children come and go, play together, and share food; adults watch and help each other. From time to time, they will meet together to have a big food party on the rooftop. Each family contributes their own food and share together. The atmosphere is lively and warm.

 

The man living alone usually cooks less, but he never lacks dessert and soup; a family treats guests and is in a flurry, other families will automatically lend a helping hand; a family who makes delicious food will often share it with other families. Once, a couple of a family went back to their hometown to handle affairs and left their children to be taken care of by their neighbors. When they came back, they found that the windows were clean, even the bed sheets were washed …... The neighbors feel obliged to help each other, and their selfless devotion helps nurture the interpersonal relationship. The loneliness between people is completely broken, the tacit understanding of coexistence, symbiosis and sharing brings them closer to each other, forming a peculiar small community, sharing each other's love and human interest!

 

(g) Embrace Ladies' Club

The primary objective of this program is to empower the disadvantaged women with self-belief and skills that will assist them in making a positive contribute to their families and community.

(h) Assistance of daily necessities

Assistance of daily necessities are rendered to the underprivileged through donation-in-kind from donors.

(i) Charity Sales

The revenue generated from the Charities Sales will be used for supporting the Poverty Alleviation Programs.

ABMSBC

 

The ABM Hong Kong Swatow Baptist Church Community Service Association (its alias: ABMSBC) was formed on 20th October 2004. ABMSBC is formed to recognize the actual makeup and organization of our agency. American Baptist Mission has a long working relationship with Swatow Baptist Churches. The history of cooperation can be dated back to 1954.

美差會潮浸服務聯會

© Copyright 2021 - The ABM Hong Kong Swatow Baptist Church Community Service Association

Created by Hypothesis & Idea

en_USEnglish

IV. 扶貧服務

(a) 美靈糧 (自行籌募經費)

「美靈糧」是美差會的扶貧服務內其中一項主要計劃。

 

此計劃旨在為有困難應付日常食物開支的個人和家庭,提供短暫的食物援助服務,服務對象包括失業者、低收入者、新來港人士、露宿者;以及遭遇突然轉變,面臨即時經濟困難的個人或家庭。

 

疫症肆虐期間,很多社福服務都受影響而被迫暫停,但我們仍堅持繼續為有需要的人士給予食物援助。去年的 2019 冠狀病毒 (COVID-19) 爆發期間,不少市民失去了工作,相關家庭立即面臨經濟困難,向我們求助的個案亦急劇上升,按統計數據顯示,由2019 年 12 月到 2020 年 6 月短短7個月內,接受政府資助的食援助的案件數量迅速增加了138%;而「美靈糧」的服務需求也隨著上升。

 

面對龐大的服務需要,我們實在無法獨力應付,幸而我們得到許多熱心人士和團體的大力支持。

 

我們十分感謝許多慈善信託、企業、教會、組織和個人的慷慨捐助,使我們能夠在困難時期繼續為有需要的人士提供服務,讓他們體驗愛與關懷。

以下個案實例展示了我們如何在服務用者的困難時期與他們並肩同行

 

E先生一家五口租住新蒲崗一劏房單位,太太照顧三名子女而未能工作(大兒子患專注力不足/過度活躍症 (ADHD),小女兒患讀寫障礙)。E先生原本任職運輸工人支撐全家生活開支,因低收入緣故,自2019年10月起開始接受本會的短期食物援助服務。E先生自去年疫情開始失業,只靠斷斷續續的散工及微薄積蓄支持生活,及至積蓄耗盡,無力支付租金、生活費用及子女的額外訓練開支,感到十分徬徨。本會知悉情況後,一方面即時為E先生安排美靈糧服務,另一方面社工即為他申請社區中提供的慈善基金,以舒緩他的經濟壓力,解燃眉之急。

 

(b) 天糧網 (黃大仙/西貢)〈政府資助的短期食物援助服務〉:

本會自2018年8月1日至2021年7月31日,營辦了「短期食物援助服務計劃 (V)」。服務由社會福利署津助,在黃大仙、將軍澳及西貢,為提供短期食物援助服務給有需要的人士。在這三年間,本會已經派發了超過 1,420,000 餐次,服務了超過 27,000個受眾。

在此計劃之前,自2009年2月29日至2018年7月31日止,本會已為東九龍區提供短期食物援助服務的五間機構之一。服務亦由社會福利署津助。

(c) 兒童無限 FUN

這項服務旨在為弱勢家的兒童提供不同類別的學習機會,以擴闊他們的視野,減低他們學習遇到的障礙,服務包括︰課餘託管,興趣班,探訪及外出活動等。

(d) 光明大道

此項服務乃特別為弱勢家庭的中學生服務,為他們的前途而提供不同類型的服務,包括:資材、性格、及人生觀評估,配合他們的選科擇業需要。由一些高質素的義工分享他們的專業及在商場上的經驗。使同學們對自己的前途不致感到迷惘。而臨床心理學家也為這群學生提供講座,提昇他們的抗逆能力。

學習方法分享

就讀香港大學的學生義工和參與光明大道的同學分享讀書心得,幫忙他們應付文憑試

「光明大道」(2021) 的最新情況:

當中有 3 位同學是應屆時文憑試畢業生。

他們三個都被香港中文大學取錄了。

結果如下:

1. 香港中文大學 醫學院 (Medicine (MBChB) Programme)

2. 香港中文大學 護理學 (Nursing)

3. 香港中文大學 商科 (Integrated Bachelor of Business Administration Programme)

以下是獲取錄就讀醫學院(Medicine)的中六學生,對「光明大道」的感想:

我很慶幸能參加了光明大道這個計劃。計劃給予了我們很多支援。在生涯規劃方面,我們一眾參加者有幸參觀律師樓,並和見習律師交談,了解到事務律師的日常工作、事業階梯等而他們更分享了讀書時期的心得以後及當年選科的考慮。

 

記得其中一位見習律師說她當年矢志入讀醫科,然後最後卻突然怕受不了行醫的壓力而改選法律。這個分享亦使我一再反思自己是否有修讀醫科的覺悟,因而獲益良多。

 

及後,美差會的社工們亦邀請了物理治療、護理系學生及我中學的一名師兄分享大學選科、學科內容、甚至是應試的心得。如此一來,大大增加了我對其他出路的了解,能夠清晰規劃未來,亦在排序大學科目時有更周詳考慮。事實上,物理治療及護理亦是我曾設想公開試成績稍為未如理想時的後備方案。因此,光明大道計劃於生涯規劃上對我有很大協助。

 

此外,光明大道計劃亦曾邀請一名醫生到學校分享講座,這實在使我獲益良多。我做夢也沒想到可以和醫生在講座後一對一交談,討論有關醫學倫理以及讀書心得的話題,實在是一個難能可貴的機會。經過該次交談,亦使我對讀醫的興趣更為明確,成為我追尋理想的動力。

 

在自我認識上,計劃亦有為我們進行性格測試,使我們更了解自己為人及適合的工種。計劃亦有定期的小組聚會,給予我們反思自身的機會,加深對自身了解,亦有助訂立長、短期的目標。

 

總括而言,計劃使我受益匪淺。因此,我會衷心推薦我的師弟師妹參與。

 

以下是獲取錄攻讀護理學(Nursing)的中六學生,對「光明大道」的感想:

光明大道這個活動提供了一個平台讓同學參與不同活動,例如醫生分享和參觀律師樓等,這些都是日常生活中較難有新參與的。

在小組活動中,大家透過不同形式的活動,更加明白自己的興趣。

因有提供個人面見,更令同學深入明白自己的未來去向。

十分推薦同學參與這些活動,十分難得。

(e) 痊路情

「痊路情」計劃是自行籌募經費為基層癌症病患者提供的支援服務,亦為本會扶貧服務之一。

 

由於本會的相關服務單位座落於東九龍區,以及資源所張,本計劃乃接受由基督教聯合醫院及將軍澳靈實醫院所轉介的癌症病友,在接受化療和電療而又需要特別營養補充的基層病友的個案。病友如有需要可由該二所醫院的醫生或醫務社工的轉介。本會會回應病友的特殊需要,購買營養奶予這些有特殊營養需要的病友,以協助及緩解他們在接受化療或電療時所面對吞嚥困難及特別營養的需要。

以下個案實例展示了我們如何在服務用者的困難時期與他們並肩同行:

 

A先生 (年數:62歲)

A先生是一位食道癌患者,在接受電療期間,只能進食流質食物(營養奶)。但一般的營養奶價格高昂,並非普通人可以負擔。在這個案中,A先生有見營養奶的價格高昂,要飲用營養奶所花的資源將會佔去他家庭開支的大部份,使家庭負擔變得艱難,便萌生自殺的念頭,其後由醫務社工轉介至本會(在這個案中,A先生其中一位家人亦是一位抑鬱症的患者,在照顧A先生的當時,更倍覺艱難),本會購買了營養奶予A先生,A先生於是打消了自殺的念頭,而他的家人的壓力感亦消除了不少。

 

B先生 (年數:60歲)

B先生也是一位鼻咽癌患者,在轉介至本會時他正接受化療及電療,在治療中B先生感到非常辛苦,除了化療和電療外,他也接受高劑量的抗生素治療,故此感到異常的辛苦而寢食難安。在本會提供的營養奶的協助下,他復原得比預期的時間更快而B先生對本會表示感謝。

 

C女士 (年數:58歲)

C女士是直腸癌患者,在她接受化療期間,醫務社工有見C女士的家境及病況,將C女士的個案轉介予本會申請援助。而C女士在接受治療期間,身體非常虛弱,本會提供營養奶予C女士作為支援。

 

D先生 (年數:67歲)

D先生是一位食道癌患者,正在接受紓緩式的化療,D先生感到非常辛苦,醫療社工有見D先生的身體非常虛弱,並轉介D先生至本會尋求協助。

(f) 劏房戶服務

家訪一隅

 

因為機構提供的食物援助服務及劏房家居改善計劃而需要接觸的劏房戶為數不少。服務區域涵蓋黃大仙,新蒲崗,牛池灣等地區,這些家庭普遍的居住環境夾小擠迫,活動空間匱乏;樓宇缺乏妥善管理,殘舊骯髒,衛生狀況惡劣,然而租金卻不平宜,對低收入家庭而言,生活本來已捉襟見肘,尚要應付昂貴租金,實在百上加斤,任何種類及方式的食物援助,對大部份的受助人而言,絕對可以暫時舒援其生活壓力。

 

早前約了一個居住在黃大仙區的服務對象家訪,她是一位獨居長者。由於她居住的小區內路徑崎嶇難辨,加上光線不足,門牌不全,唯恐找不著她的單位,於是相約在村口,等她接我,但我在相約的時間久候多時卻不見人影,於是致電聯絡她,連續幾次她都未有接聽,到最後一試之時,她接聽了,原來她正忙著在街頭執紙皮而忘記了我的家訪。她於是衝衝趕回來,見面後她帶我經過蜿蜒漆黑兼濕滑的路徑,去到其住處,還要小心翼翼爬上一條破舊不堪的梯子才到達她的房子,裡面堆放著雜物,插針式的企著兩個人,稍為移動一下都難,婆婆如數家珍般將拾荒回來的舊物一件件指給我看,生鏽風扇,電飯煲,雪櫃……望著,聽著,無言……!

【劏房戶一隅】

 

在黃大仙區其中一座連天台有六層樓的唐樓中,出現了一個久違了的溫馨場景,我稱之為一個睦鄰小社區。

 

這座大廈一梯有兩個單位,而五樓那兩個單位內,分別分間了三個劏房,共住了六戶人,其中一戶只得一位年青男子獨居,其餘五戶一家大小,難能可貴的是這六戶人家仿如一個大家庭,平時戶與戶之間是大門常開的,孩子們互相往來,一起玩耍,分享食物;成人守望相助,彼此照應。他們間中會相約一起在天台開大食會,各家各自貢獻美食,一同分享,氣氛融和熱鬧。

 

獨居男子平時少煮食,卻從不缺乏糖水與湯水;某家請客,手忙腳亂,其他家庭就會自動伸出援手;某家弄了美食,往往也會為另外的家庭帶來口福;試過有一個家庭的夫婦回鄉辦理事務,留下孩子給鄰居照顧,回來時發覺窗明几淨,連床單都洗了,曬過,再鋪好 …… 鄰居之間義不容辭的相助,無私的付出,將人際間的隔寞完全打破,那種共存共生共享的默契,將他們一夥人互相拉近,形成一個奇特的小社區,分享著彼此的關愛和暖暖的人情味!

 

(g) 伊人雅聚

此項服務乃一些弱勢群體的婦女而設,旨在提高她們的自信心及社交技巧,在自我提昇之餘,更希望協助她們擁有正面的人生價值,造福她們的家庭及社會。

(h) 食物及日常用品、二手傢具轉贈

此服務乃由熱心人士在捐贈食物或二手傢具後,由本會轉贈有需要人士。

(i) 義賣

從義賣所得到的金錢,會存於本會的扶貧基金以支持本會的扶貧服務。

ABMSBC

 

美差會潮浸服務聯會 (簡稱:美潮浸聯會)前身為美浸信會,成立於2004年10月20日。是一間非謀利的福利機構。本會以基督教之愛心,服務人群,自1954年開始,在香港東九龍區提供服務

The ABM Hong Kong Swatow Baptist Church Community Service Association

© Copyright 2021 - The ABM Hong Kong Swatow Baptist Church Community Service Association

Created by Hypothesis & Idea

zh_HKChinese